Chat with a Librarian
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of e-books and electronic content
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowA database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative resource for music research with an ongoing mission to chart the diverse history and cultures of music and musicians from around the globe. Includes more than 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars.
***Limited to 1 user at a time.
Also listed as: Grove Music Online
Search the Library Catalog
Maxwell Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. To locate your book in the General Collection look at the first letter of the call number. If it begins with the letter A-L it will be on the second floor. If it starts with the letters M-Z it will be on the third floor.
Try the Subject Terms "Motion Picture plays-History and Criticism"
Searching the Library CatalogTips
Some suggested call numbers:
- M - musical scores/printed music
ML - Literature about music
- MT - Musical instruction and study
Some suggested subjects (do a SUBJECT search for these, rather than a keyword search):
- Music--Instruction and Study
- Jaques-Dalcroze, Emile
- Kodaly, Zoltaan
- Orff, Carl
Locating Items in Maxwell Library
- Reference materials and audio CDs can be found on the 1st floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the A-L call number ranges are located on the 2nd floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the M-Z call number ranges are located on the 3rd floor of Maxwell Library.
- DVDs are located at the circulation desk. Ask a staff member for assistance.
Films on Demand - Streaming Video
Try searching "music theory" or "music and learning."
How to Obtain Books from Other Libraries
- Commonwealth Catalog and Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServicesBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library Collection.
Library users may use the Commonwealth Catalog to request books directly from participating Massachusetts libraries.
Selected Reference Books
Reference books are located on the first floor of Maxwell Library.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of MusiciansCall Number: Ref ML105 .B16 2001
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of MusicCall Number: ML100 .K46 2007
- Dictionary of American Classical ComposersCall Number: ML106.U3 B87 2005ISBN: 0415938481
- Harvard Dictionary of MusicCall Number: ML100 .A64 2003ISBN: 0674011635
- The New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansCall Number: General Collection ML100 .N48 2001