Political Science materials can be located by browsing the following call numbers:
JA - Political science (general)
JC - Political theory
JF-JQ - Political institutions and public administration (organized by region)
JS - Local government
JV - Immigration, international migration
JZ - International relations
... or by searching the library catalog for the following subjects:
Selected Print Reference Books
- Nations of the world 2018 : a political, economic & business handbook byCall Number: HF1010 .N37 2018 [Reference]
- The concise Oxford dictionary of politics and international relations byCall Number: JA61 .C665 2018 [Reference]
- Encyclopedia of stateless nations : ethnic and national groups around the world byCall Number: D860 .M56 2016 [Reference]
- Encyclopedia of Global Studies byCall Number: JZ1318 .E626 2012ISBN: 9781412964296
- The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication byCall Number: Ref JA85 .I575 20163 volumes
- The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought byCall Number: Ref JC49 .P75 2013
- Historical Dictionary of Human Rights byCall Number: Ref JC571 .F59 2014
- Historical Dictionary of Intelligence Failures byCall Number: Ref JF1525.I6 T735 2015
- Vital Statistics on American Politics 2015-2016 byCall Number: Ref JK275 .S74 2015
- The Central Intelligence Agency: An Encyclopedia of Covert Ops, Intelligence Gathering, and Spies byCall Number: Ref JK468.I6 C457 20162 volumes
- A Constitutional History of the U. S. Supreme Court byCall Number: Ref KF8742 .R46 2015
There are several ways to search for articles on your research topic:
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
If the library does not subscribe to the article or journal you need, you can still obtain it by filling out a request through Interlibrary Loan:
- American Journal of Political ScienceGeneral review open to all areas of the discipline of political science.
- American Political Science ReviewArticles for a diverse audience of scholars and practitioners which illuminate a significant research problem or answer an important research question of general interest in political science.
- Annual Review of Political SciencePrimary research to identify the principal contributions in the field of political science.
- Harvard Law ReviewJournal of legal scholarship, publishes articles by professors, judges, and practitioners and solicits reviews of important recent books from recognized experts.
- Law and Contemporary ProblemsSpecial issues dealing with legal, economical, administrative and sociological aspects of law and contemporary problems; consumption taxes, religion and the state, patent system, crime and correction, and more.
- New Perspectives QuarterlyCutting-edge debate on current affairs.
- Political Science QuarterlyWidely read and accessible scholarly journal on government, politics, and public policy, examining both domestic and international issues.
- The Review of PoliticsPrimarily philosophical and historical studies of politics, especially those concentrating on political theory and American political thought.
- Vital Speeches of the DayMonthly magazine that presents speeches and addresses in full.
- Washington MonthlyPolitical journal providing an inside look at how the government works in Washington.
Finding E-Reference Books
Maxwell Library provides access to thousands of e-books, which can be located in a general MaxSearch as well as through specific databases, such as the following:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text content from more than 260 reference titles with nearly 3 million entries covering every major subject.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text for several thousand e-books on a variety of subjects.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowElectronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
- Current Biography Illustrated This link opens in a new windowMore than 30,000 biographies and obituaries with photographs, covering more than 20,000 individuals. Searchable collection of more than 35,000 images.
- DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new windowDirectory of nearly 9,000 free, open access, peer-reviewed academic books and chapters from 224 publishers.
- Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new windowIncludes nearly 200 journals providing perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowOffers international viewpoints on global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information.
- ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new windowData archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archival news content, containing approximately 185,000,000 articles.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals, academic journals, and other content offering information pertaining to all branches of the military and government, including cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- Military and Intelligence Database Collection This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals and basic reference materials that are updated annually: The Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and The World Almanac and Book of Facts. Includes over 500 titles and more than 7 million articles (80% full-text).
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full text for over 400 journals, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals with a worldwide focus. The database also features more than 180 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full-text conference papers.
- A to Z Maps Online This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
- World History in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in world history over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the world from reference books, journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.