Political Science: Recommended Websites

Leading source of presidential documents on the internet. Currently contains more than 126,000 documents, including inaugural addresses, press briefing, proclamations, election documents, and more.

Companion site to the Peabody Award‑winning series profiling the men who have served as chief executive of the United States.

Official website of the legislative branch of the United States government.

Proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress.

Federal Government Publication Depository Libraries in Massachusetts. By law, publications in these collections must be accessible to the general public.

Multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. A complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.

Includes directory of presidential libraries and museums, as well as presidential documents and online exhibits.

Current Supreme Court information, including current cases and recent decisions.

Official website of the judicial branch of the U.S. government.

The Federal Government's official, digital, secure resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. government.

Information on current and past representatives, legislation, and committees.

Information on current and past U.S. senators, legislation, and committees.

Official website of the executive branch of the United States government.

Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.

Presentations and lectures, annual meetings, interviews, webinars, and more.

Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

Non-partisan organization devoted to bringing the insights of scholarship to bear on the development of policies that advance U.S. national interests.

Recent polling data relating to national and international topics.

Publications, datasets, reports, and global indicators.

Images of posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Pacifism, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, and Youth/Student Protest. Some are from the first half of the 20th century, but the majority are from the 1960s and later.

A collection of TED Talks on the topic of politics.

Produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

Detailed statistics for all 57 presidential elections between 1789 and 2012.

Includes campaign finance data, help for candidates and committees, and legal resources.

More than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952. (Requires Flash and Javascript to be enabled.)

Searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy.

Biographies, votes, positions, speeches, and funding of United States politicians.

Key documents in law, history, and diplomacy, from 4000 BCE to the present.

Surveys on European public opinion since 1974. Each survey consists of approximately 1000 face-to-face interviews per country. Reports are published twice yearly.

Official website of the European Union. Includes official documents, reports, studies, statistics, and open data.

Annual review of human rights around the globe. Browsable by country.

The major objectives of the ICD are to extend current research, programs and practices in the field of cultural diplomacy and create a platform to promote and sustain inter-cultural dialogue at all levels.

Information on governments, human rights, law and justice ,political parties, and political science in Latin American countries.

Publications, datasets, reports, and global indicators.

Independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public.

Includes key documents, news and media, information on issues and campaigns, and more.

Nonprofit academic membership association that furthers research on public organizations.

A collection of TED Talks on the topic of public spaces.

Global network that connects relevant international, regional, subregional, and national institutions worldwide for the promotion of better public administration.

Gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues.

Digitized decisions and opinions from federal and state courts, from 18th century to present day.

Includes legal reports, digitized material, legal research guides, and more.

Freely accessible law-related materials, including primary materials such as state statutes, federal rules, Supreme Court decisions, legal citation guides, and more.

A collection of TED Talks on the topic of law.