Chat with a Librarian
Welcome
This guide is intended to help you do research for your English 101 class. It includes access to: Books (library online catalog); Articles in periodicals (through databases), and Films.
Please contact a Reference librarian at (508) 531-1394 or refdept@bridgew.edu if you need further assistance. And, of course, you can always contact me.
Find Biographical Information
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowBiographical articles of international figures.
- Biography Reference Center [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowBiographies from American National Biography
Search the Library Catalog
Maxwell Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. To locate your book in the General Collection look at the first letter of the call number. If it begins with the letter A-L, it will be on the second floor. If it starts with the letters M-Z, it will be on the third floor. Reference Books and periodicals are located on the first floor and may not be checked out.
Online Databases
These databases require a BSU login.
- Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowA general database. Many of the articles are available full text. If not, click on "Full Text Finder" for other options in locating the full text. Results may be narrowed by date, types of sources, subject, and geography.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA general database. Many of the articles are available full text. If not, click on "Find Full Text" for other options in locating the full text. Refine results by article type, such as peer reviewed.
- Nexis Uni (formerly: LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowA general database that includes articles from newspapers worldwide. Note the new look. Search in the box under Academic Search. Results are newest to oldest, but may be changed to Relevance or Oldest to Newest. Select Newspapers from the categories on the left. You can also narrow by Geography, etc.
- News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text for The Boston Globe 1980-present, New York Daily Times 1851-1857, New York Times 1857-present, and Wall Street Journal 1984-present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowNearly 3.5 million full text articles in 835 reference books from 108 publishers. Includes encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and subject-specific works.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowIncludes 320 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, library science, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowCovers today's hottest social issues, offering differing views to help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowWidely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, containing the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.
Database
Guide Editor
Library Hours
Mon - Thur.: 7:30 am – 11:00 pm
Fri.: 7:30 am – 5:00 pm
Sat.: 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sun.: 12pm – 10:00pm