HLSC 340 Evidence Based Practice: Find Books

The first book of its kind to provide exhaustive, in-depth coverage of play therapy research Child-Centered Play Therapy Research: The Evidence Base for Effective Practice offers mental health professionals, school district administrators, community agency administrators, judges, lawyers, child protection caseworkers, and medical professionals a comprehensive discussion of play therapy research studies. Guidance is provided on evidence-based methods, as well as on how¿future play therapy research should be conducted. Edited by renowned experts in the field of play therapy, this rich compilation features contributions by child-centered play therapy researchers, with relevant discussion of: The history of play therapy research A synopsis of current empirical support Play therapy research on chronically ill children, child witnesses of domestic violence, and victims of natural disasters, among many other topics With coverage of important practice guidelines, Child-Centered Play Therapy Research identifies the most prominent and current play therapy research studies, as well as research directions for clinicians to design evidence-based research studies of their own.

A Choice Magazine Outstanding Academic Title of 2017! School-based mental health professionals intervene daily to address a variety of student mental health concerns. From challenges that arise in the educational context to those carried over from home, from managing daily care to handling emergent traumatic events, they must be prepared for an extremely varied work life. While some of the most common issues recur with such frequency that they may seem straightforward to address, others crop up with changing student populations. Each chapter in this volume addresses a different key topic, giving current and future professionals an overview of the most recent scholarship on the topic, and then outlining evidence-based interventions. With chapters on learning disabilities, substance abuse, bullying, internalizing and externalizing behaviors, trauma, LGBT youth and more, this book prepares school-based mental health professionals to face some of the most difficult, common, and politicized issues affecting students today.

Offers the most current, evidence-based information for helping specific populations affected by disasters Vulnerable populations such as children, older adults, and people with disabilities are disproportionately affected by large-scale disasters. This hands-on resource for students and professionals in social work, counseling, nursing, and mental health encompasses the best and most current evidence-based interventions for effectively responding to the needs of vulnerable populations following disasters. Using an all-hazards perspective, the book also provides a dedicated section containing population-specific personal preparedness considerations and discusses the role of preparedness in mitigating negative consequences. The resource is unique in its provision of vital information for locating requisite assessment tools, preparedness checklists, and forms. It also provides a list of mobile applications offered through national organizations. The resource addresses the specific psychosocial needs of vulnerable populations after a disaster. It delivers best practices for crisis intervention with specific populations including children, older adults, people with disabilities, people with mental health issues, and people with substance abuse issues. The authors present a theoretical foundation for understanding disasters, response systems, common guidelines for preparedness, and basic crisis theory. This is a resource that will be valuable not only to practitioners in a great variety of health disciplines, but also to volunteer professionals and paraprofessionals involved in disaster preparedness and response. Case vignettes are included in each chapter to illustrate issues particular to each population Key Features: Offers the highest quality, best available evidence for choosing appropriate interventionsFocuses on vulnerable populations including children, older adults, and people with disabilities, mental health issues and substance abuse issuesComprises a practical, hands-on manual for mental health and medical professionals and volunteers regarding disaster preparedness and responseProvides assessment tools and preparedness checklists and formsIncludes case vignettes to illustrate issues specific to each population

From an experienced clinician and a prominent psychotherapy researcher, this book synthesizes the evidence base for cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) and translates it into practical clinical guidelines. Therapists and students learn how to implement core CBT techniques, why and how they work, and what to do when faced with gaps in scientific knowledge. Vivid case examples illustrate what evidence-based strategies look like in action with real-world clients who may have multiple presenting problems. The authors also separate CBT myths from facts and discuss ways to manage common treatment challenges. New to This Edition *Revised throughout to incorporate the latest research, including key meta-analytic studies. *Chapters on clinical techniques have been restructured to be more concise and digestible. *New content on sleep difficulties, reducing avoidance, and motivational interviewing. *A new extended case example runs throughout the book.

Historically, mental health clinical research has taken inadequate account of psychosocial disorders experienced by those who identify as sexual and gender minorities, however, researchers have recently begun developing and adapting evidence-based mental health treatment approaches for use with these groups. Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities offers a comprehensive array of evidence-based approaches for treating sexual and gender minority clients' mental health concerns. The interventions detailed here span a diverse spectrum of populations, including sexual and gender minority youth, transgender populations, same-sex couples, sexual minority parents, and bisexual individuals. Chapters also address numerous mental and behavioral health problems, including anxiety disorders, depression, substance abuse, trauma, body image disturbance, and sexual health. In addition to an overview of the research evidence supporting each clinical presentation and approach, chapters contain practical how-to guidance for therapists to use in their clinical practice. This book reflects a true integration of the best of sexual and gender minority research and the best of evidence-based practice research, presented by the leading experts in the field. As such it is essential reading for mental health professionals who work with these groups, as well as trainees in social work, counseling, and clinical psychology.

Home Exercise Programs for Musculoskeletal and Sports Injuries: The Evidence-Based Guide for Practitioners is designed to assist and guide healthcare professionals in prescribing home exercise programs in an efficient and easy to follow format. With patient handouts that are comprehensive and customizable, this manual is intended for the busy practitioner in any medical specialty who prescribes exercise for musculoskeletal injuries and conditions. The most central aspect of any therapeutic exercise program is the patient's ability to perform the exercises effectively and routinely at home. This book is organized by major body regions from neck to foot and covers the breadth of home exercises for problems in each area based on the current literature. Each chapter begins with a brief introduction to the rehabilitation issues surrounding the types of injuries that can occur and general exercise objectives with desired outcomes, followed by a concise review of the specific conditions and a list of recommended exercises. The remainder of the chapter is a visual presentation of the exercises with high-quality photographs and step-by-step instructions for performing them accurately. The most fundamental exercises to the rehabilitation of each specific region are presented first as the essential building blocks, followed then by condition-specific exercises that advance throughout the chapter. Using this section, the healthcare practitioner can provide patients with handouts that require little to no explanation and can customize the program and modify instructions to fit individual patient needs and abilities-- with confidence the handouts will be a valuable tool to help patients recover successfully from musculoskeletal and sports injuries. Key Features: Concise evidence-based guide for practitioners who prescribe home exercise programs for musculoskeletal and sports injuriesPresents foundational, intermediate, and more advanced exercises for each body region and condition based on the current literature to achieve desired outcomesHighly visual approach with over 400 photographs demonstrating each exercise effectively with step-by-step instructionsEach chapter includes evidence-based recommendations and goals for advancement of the exercise programIncludes digital access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices and computers

Therapy is frequently miscast as requiring an enormous amount of time and financial commitment, but helpful, goal-oriented therapy can produce positive results after only a few sessions. Solution-focused brief therapy (SFBT) has been gaining momentum as a powerful therapeutic approach sinceits inception in the 1980s. By focusing on solutions instead of problems, it asks clients to set concrete goals and to draw upon strengths in their lives that can help bring about the desired change for a preferred future.Addressing both researchers and practitioners, a distinguished cast of international, interdisciplinary contributors review the current state of research on SFBT interventions and illustrate its applications--both proven and promising--with a diverse variety of populations, including domesticviolence offenders, troubled and runaway youth, students, adults with substance abuse problems, and clients with schizophrenia. This expansive text also includes a treatment manual, strengths-based and fidelity measures, and detailed descriptions on how to best apply SFBT to underscore thestrengths, skills, and resources that clients may unknowingly possess.With its rich assortment of resources, this handbook is the definitive guide to SFBT for scholars and mental health practitioners alike.