Chat with a Librarian
E-books
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowNearly 3.5 million full text articles in 835 reference books from 108 publishers. Includes encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and subject-specific works.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes searchable full text for several thousand eBooks on a variety of subjects.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, library science, literature, medicine, and more.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowResource for music research with an ongoing mission to chart the diverse history and cultures of music and musicians from around the globe.
***Limited to 1 user at a time.
Also listed as: Grove Music Online
Search the Library Catalog
Maxwell Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. To locate your book in the General Collection look at the first letter of the call number. If it begins with the letter A-L it will be on the second floor. If it starts with the letters M-Z it will be on the third floor.
Try the Subject Terms "Motion Picture plays-History and Criticism"
Searching the Library CatalogTips
Some suggested call numbers: for music and criminology
- M - MT Music
- HV6001 - 7220.5 Criminology
Some suggested subjects (do a SUBJECT search for these, rather than a keyword search):
- Music, blues, musicians, rap music, folk music, popular music, hip hop
Locating Items in Maxwell Library
- Reference materials and audio CDs can be found on the 1st floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the A-L call number ranges are located on the 2nd floor of Maxwell Library.
- Books in the M-Z call number ranges are located on the 3rd floor of Maxwell Library.
- DVDs are located on the first floor of the library near reference.
How to Obtain Books from Other Libraries
- Commonwealth Catalog and Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery ServicesBSU faculty, librarians, administrators, students and staff may use Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Services (ILL/DDS) to request materials not found in the Maxwell Library Collection.
Library users may use the Commonwealth Catalog to request books directly from participating Massachusetts libraries.
Films on Demand - Streaming Video
Try searching "music theory" or "music and learning."
Selected Reference Books
Reference books are located on the first floor of Maxwell Library.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of MusiciansCall Number: Ref ML105 .B16 2001
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of MusicCall Number: ML100 .K46 2007
Harvard Dictionary of MusicCall Number: ML100 .A64 2003
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansCall Number: General Collection ML100 .N48 2001
