Find Tests in the ERC Test Collection Using the Library Catalog

For the most up-to-date listing of tests our online catalog.

Search ERC Tests:

Advanced Search

An excellent way to limit your search to tests located in the ERC restricted test collection is to go to the Advanced Search page and click on the Collection tab below the search boxes.  Check off ERC Tests in the list, then do a  keyword search on a topic of interest, such as reading, mathematics, art, cognition, achievement, intelligence, personality, etc., or search for a specific test by title or author.

Find Tests in the ERC Test Collection Using the Test Holdings Booklet

Find Tests Owned by Other BSU Departments

BSU students can also check with their respective departments (Special Education, Counselor Education, Psychology, etc.)  to ascertain if the departments have test copies that can be borrowed and/or administered.

Find Instruments in Periodical/Informational Databases

PsycTests

Includes thousands of test instruments and test items that are available for  immediate download. Each record includes scope of the test, test implementation, overview of the test’s development, and reliability and validity data (when available). Covers achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, and personality tests relevant in the fields of psychology, management, education, social science, and social work.

ERIC Login(from EbscoHost) and ERIC (from US Dept. of Education; unrestricted access)

Use Advanced Search and limit Publication Type to "Tests/Questionnaires."  In the search box, type in a keyword of interest, such as reading, math, achievement, etc.  Complete instruments are occasionally appended.

PsycInfo

Use Advanced Search. In the first search box, type in <appended> and change its "Select a Field" box to "TM Tests & Measures." In the next search box(es), type in keywords that reflect what you are looking for, e.g., emotions, motivation, cognitive ability, etc.

View a short tutorial created by the APA on finding tests and measures in PsycInfo (we have the EBSCO database; try viewing the version for APA PsycNet).

.

Find Instruments in ETS & Tests in Microfiche (TiM)

ETS Test Link Database

  • This free, online database provides abbreviated information on both published and unpublished tests
  • If a citation is given for a journal article in which an instrument appears, use Maxwell Library's A to Z Journal List to check for availability of the journal in our collections.
  • Some older, full-text tests may be available through Tests in Microfiche (TiM) (see below).
  • This is a small subset of the ETS Test Collection and was offered by annual subscription to libraries in colleges and universities (discontinued in 2005). 
  • If you find a test of interest in the ETS Test Link database (see above), and that is not appended to or contained within a journal article, copy its Call Number and then request the fiche at the Circulation Desk.  Circulation staff will check the fiche cabinets to see if the requested fiche is available.  Note that only some tests will be available on microfiche. 

Find Instruments Using "Test Finders" from Other Institutions

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences:  Tests Available in Compilation Volumes (from Helen Hough, University of Texas, Arlington)
[Note: Helen Hough retired in summer 2016 and the status of this database is currently uncertain]

  • An online, searchable index of about 12,000 unpublished full-text tests, scales, and measures that are included in over 125 books.
  • Maxwell Library does not own all of the books listed.
  • To obtain a test, you must first check to see if we own the book it is in. To do this, check the Library's online catalog.
  • If we don't own the book, you may be able to request it through Interlibrary Loan.


SDSU Test Finder (from Mark Stover, San Diego State University)

  • Another searchable index of unpublished full-text tests, scales, and measures found in books and in journal articles.
  • Maxwell Library does not own all of the books or journals listed.
  • To obtain a test from a book, you must first check to see if we own the book it is in. To do this, check the Library's online catalog.
  • To obtain a test from a journal, check Maxwell Library's A to Z Journal List to check for availability of the journal in our collections.
  • If we don't own the book or the journal (or don't have the journal for the date you need), you may be able to request the book or the article the test appears in through Interlibrary Loan.

 

SEDL Reading Assessment Database(from SEDL, formerly a regional educational laboratory and now a non-profit educational research organization)

 

  • This tool will help you locate information on reading instruments.
  • The database allows you to "browse all assessment tools, compare their features on a summary chart, or .... search ... to locate assessment tools with specific features."
  • If you locate a test of interest in this database, check the Library's online catalog to see if we own the test.
  • Most of the tests listed in the database appear to be published. If the ERC does not own a listed test, it may therefore have to be purchased from the publisher. However, a few tests in the database appear to be available as free downloads or accessible in another manner.

Free Instruments Online

You can do searches in Google or other search engines for specific instruments, such as the Kiersey Temperament Sorter, or do more general searches for free assessments on the Web, but you should always use caution when selecting items for use.   Evaluate the instruments and their sources thoroughly.  Ask:  who created the instrument; what are his/her credentials; who (what institutions/organizations) are they affiliated with;  etc.

(General) Psychology

Psychological Tests for Student Use (from Ron Okada, York University)
The purpose of this web site is to provide student researchers with easy access to a number of psychological tests.

Testing and Assessment (from Psych Web, Russel Dewey, Georgia Southern University)
Scroll down to "Online Tests."

The Big Five Inventory (from Berkeley Personality Lab, Oliver John, UCal Berkeley)
A brief multidimensional personality inventory.  Click on "Measures" at top of page to see several additional measures.

Social-Personality Psychology Questionnaire Instrument Compendium (from Alan Reifman, Texas Tech University)

Industrial/Organizational Psychology (Work/Job)

Psychological Scale Information (from Paul Spector, University of South Florida)

Religious Belief

,u>Multidimensional Measurement of Religiosity/Spirituality for Use in Health Research (from Fetzer Institute)
"A 16-item self-report measure of spiritual experience. It specifically aims to measure ordinary, or daily, spiritual experiences – not mystical experiences (e.g., hearing voices) – and how they are an everyday part of the individual’s life."

Substance Abuse

Substance Use Screening and Assessment Instruments Database (from ADAI Library, University of Washington)

Violence

Measuring Intimate Partner Violence Victimization and Perpetration: A Compendium of Assessment Tools (from Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)

Measuring Violence-Related Attitudes, Behaviors, and Influences Among Youths: A Compendium of Assessment Tools - Second Edition (from Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)