Find Books
Selected Public Administration Books
Public Administration: Traditions of inquiry and philosophies of knowledge by Call Number: JF1351 .R4648 2010ISBN: 1589017048Publication Date: 2010-06-16Public Administration examines the intellectual origins and identity of the discipline of public administration, its diverse research traditions, and how public administration research is conducted today. The book's intended purpose is to engage reasonable-minded public administration scholars and professionals in a dialogue on the importance of heterogeneity in epistemic traditions, and to deepen the field's understanding and acceptance of its epistemological scope.
Public Administration: The Interdisciplinary Study of Government by Call Number: JF1351 .R255 2011ISBN: 0199693897Publication Date: 2012-01-13Public Administration: The Interdisciplinary Study of Government provides an account of the discipline, considering its history, growth, boundaries, and underlying assumptions. It tracks the emergence of the field against a background of the expanding conception of the state and the growth of public services, and situates it within the three branches of knowledge - natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
The State of Public Administration by Call Number: JK421 .S718 2011ISBN: 0765625059Publication Date: 2011-03-15The trends and practices of public administration are ever changing and it is Designed as a capstone survey of the field, The State of Public Administration focuses on leading edge issues, challenges, and opportunities that confront PA study and practice in the 21st Century.
Search Tips
To find books on political science, search the Library's online catalog or browse the political science collection shelves.
Political Science books are shelved on the the second floor. Their shelf numbers (or call numbers) start from J to JX. You can also do a virtual bookshelf browsing using a call number search in the library's online catalog by entering one of J shelf numbers.
If you do not know what to look for, start a subject search with one of the following headings:
- Comparative Government (JF20-1177)
- Congress (JK1012-1432)
- Electoral system (JK1965-2217)
- Internal Revenue (HJ2240-5908)
- Legislative branch (JK1012-1432)
- Local Government (JS)
- Municipal Government (JS)
- Organizational Behavior (HD58.7-58.95)
- Public Administration (JF1338-2112)
- Public Institutions (JF20-1177)
- Public Institutions & Administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.) (JL)
- Public Institutions & Administration (Europe) (JN)
- Public Institutions & Administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.) (JQ)
- Public Finance (HJ)
- Public Institutions & Administration (North America) (JJ1000-1019)
- Public Institutions & Administration (U. S.) (JK1-9993)
- Public Personnel (JF1502-1700)
- Revenue (HJ2240-5908)
- State Government (JK2403-9593)
- Taxation (HJ2240-5908)
- Sweatshops (HD2337-2339)
Selected E-books
- Ethics and Integrity in Public Administration: Concepts and CasesEthics and Integrity in Public Administration presents cutting-edge perspectives on the role of ethics in public sector management - what it is and where it is going. The book includes both theoretical insights and commentaries grounded in practice. Chapters are divided into three parts: Ethical Foundations and Perspectives, Ethical Management and Ethical Leadership, and International and Comparative Perspectives.
- The Handy American Government Answer Book : How Washington, Politics, and Elections WorkFilling the breach and answering basic questions about how our very complex government operates and what it promises, The Handy American Government Answer Book: How Washington, Politics, and Elections Work takes a comprehensive look at the historic development of the government, the functions of each branch of government, and the systems, people, and policies that comprise American democracy.
Films on Demand
Searchable database of video clips on almost any topic.
Selected Reference Books
Encyclopedia of governance by Call Number: JC11 .E53 2007ISBN: 9781412905794Publication Date: 2007The Encyclopedia of Governance provides a one-stop point of reference for the diverse and complex topics surrounding governance. This resource concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of Political Science, Public Administration, Political Economy, and Sociology.
Rulemaking: How Government Agencies Write Law and Make Policy by Call Number: KF5411 .K47 2019ISBN: 0872893375Publication Date: 2010-08-05Rulemaking is the single most important function performed by government agencies. While Congress and the president provide the general framework for the government's mission, rulemaking fills in the details that define the law and delineate how each agency carries out its responsibilities. Cornelius Kerwin, and new co-author Scott Furlong, update this highly regarded text with new data, fresh analysis of interest groups; participation in rulemaking, as well as coverage of the Obama administration's early actions, from executive orders and key personnel to agencies; responses to changes.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Public Administration by Call Number: JA61 .S54ISBN: 0816012660Publication Date: 1985-01-01Defines terms from law, economics, psychology, statistics, management, history, and medicine, and identifies important individuals, court rulings, and laws in the history of public administration.
